Music details
World premiere date
Premiere location place
Los Angeles, CA

In 2001, Tharp revised Grosse Sonate, converting the quartet into a sextet and retitling the work Hammerklavier. Though much of the original material was maintained, the addition of new dancers provided Tharp with additional choreographic options. 

  • A screen capture showing Demidenko (in foreground) and dancers during a studio showing.

    <p>©Twyla Tharp</p>
Video URL
Video Description

Company dancers in a studio showing.

Full music program

Hammerklavier, or, Piano Sonata No. 29 in B-flat major, Op. 106
Composed by Ludwig van Beethoven

1. Allegro
2. Scherzo: Assai vivace
3. Adagio sostenuto
4. Introduzione: Largo - Fuga: Allegro risoluto

Music details
Hammerklavier (premiere) - Junk Duet - Westerly Round (premiere) | Twyla Tharp Dance
Ahmanson Theatre
Los Angeles, CA